Our History

History - Church of God of Prophecy

The Church of God of Prophecy is a vibrant, worldwide body of believers, united in worship, working hand-in-hand to share God’s love and a message of hope to the brokenhearted. The Church of God of Prophecy has over one-and-a-half million members, worshiping in over 10,000 churches our missions in 130 nations of the world. Nearly 90% of our global membership is outside of North America.

The Church of God movement began over one hundred years ago in the humble hearts of earnest believers in the rural mountains of Cherokee County, North Carolina. Following a miracle-filled revival that took place in a schoolhouse near Camp Creek in 1886, a small congregation formed a Christian Union to pray and study the scriptures.

Soon led by an energetic young pastor from Indiana named A.J. Tomlinson, the group was more formally organized in 1903 into the Church of God and relocated its headquarters to neighboring Cleveland, Tennessee the following year. From Appalachia to the World, the century that followed saw great growth in all the branches of this movement.



   District Overseers for Niceville       District #'s Changed 

  1974-1975     Hubert R. Smith                        12    

  1975-1976     L.B. Baggett                              12                                                                  

  1976-1978     Eddie Tanner                            15                                                                   

  1978-1979     Harold Pounders                      15                                                               

  1979-1982     Robert Welch                           15                                                                 

  1982-1984     Danny Scott                             15                                                                

  1984-1985    Jeff Welch                                 15                                                                

  1985-1988    Jeff Futch                                  14                                                                 

  1988-1990    Jimmy Sessions                      16   

  1990-1996   Glen Wright                               16

  1996-1997   Glen Wright                               16

  1997-2000  Charles Hawkins                        16    

  2000-2001  William C. Nester Jr.                  16

  2001-2011  William C. Nester Jr.                  15          

  2011- Present   William C. Nester Jr.           14                                                                                               

  April 2021  
Bible Search
Contents © 2021 Church of God of Prophecy NWF • Church Website Builder by mychurchwebsite.netPrivacy Policy